<u>ITC</u>

- 1. There are no vacancies.
- 2. There is no permanent Chairman: Anne Brunsdale (R) is Vice-Chairman. A Memo to designate Brunsdale as Chairman and Ron Cass (D) as Vice-Chairman is with Governor Sununu.

CPSC

Three vacancies exist, but only one is funded by Congress. Technically, the new appointment, who should be nominated as Chairman, could be a Republican, although the two remaining Commissioners are also Republicans.

SEC

- 1. Charles Cox's (R) term expired last June. He was renominated but not confirmed and is holding over.
- 2. Mary Schapiro (I) was recessed last November.
- 3. David Ruder is Chairman. His term as Commissioner expires in June, 1991, but, as Chairman, he serves at the President's pleasure.

<u>FCC</u>

- 1. There are two Republican vacancies. President Reagan nominated Brad Holmes and Susan Wing.
- 2. Chairman Dennis Patrick's (R) term as Commissioner expires in June, 1992. As Chairman, he serves at the pleasure of the President.

FTC

- 1. Chairman Daniel Oliver's (R) term expired last September. He is holding over.
- 2. Margot Machol (R) was recess appointed by President Reagan last November.

CFTC

- 1. William Albrecht (D) was recess appointed by President Reagan last November.
- 2. Chairman Wendy Gramm's (R) term expires in April, 1990. As Chairman, she serves at the pleasure of the President.

<u>ICC</u>

There are two Republican vacancies. Chairman Heather Gradison, whose term expired at the end of 1988, is holding over. (The Chairman serves as Chairman at the pleasure of the President.) Frederic Andre, whose term expired at the end of 1987, is holding over also. He was renominated by President Reagan, but the nomination was not acted upon.

FMC

- 1. There is one Democrat (or Independent) vacancy.
- 2. Chairman Elaine Chao's (R) term as Commissioner expires in June 1991. As Chairman, she serves at the pleasure of the President.

FERC

- 1. There are no vacancies until October 1989, when a term held by Democrat Charles Stalon expires.
- 2. Chairman Martha Hesse's (R) term as Commissioner expires in October 1991. As Chairman, she serves at the pleasure of the President.